skip navigation
New Hampshire Department of Environmental Services

Impaired Waters Review Information

RSA 485-A:12 (Water Pollution Control Act) requires clean-up of pollution sources that contribute to violations of water quality standards. NHDES maintains a list of impaired waters that do not meet water quality standards and need clean-up. In the interim between the time waters are listed as impaired and the time a clean-up plan (TMDL) is prepared, no additional pollutant loading that would contribute to the impairment is allowed. Therefore, new activities in areas where stormwater would contribute to violations of water quality standards are required to include Best management Practices (BMPs) for stormwater pollution control so that pollutant loading from the new activity is no greater than the pre-existing loading, and so that new activities do not exacerbate an existing water quality violation.

Individual 401 Water Quality Certification (Certification) addresses impaired waters during the individual 401 Certification review process. However, the generic 401 Certification (No. 2007-003), issued for the US Army Corps of Engineers New Hampshire State Programmatic General Permit, does not necessarily address impaired waters and may require modification relative to impaired waters.

Click on the county list links to view maps of impaired waters by county.

County List

Belknap Adobe Acrobat Reader Symbol Map of New Hampshire County Boundaries
Carroll Adobe Acrobat Reader Symbol
Cheshire Adobe Acrobat Reader Symbol
Coos Adobe Acrobat Reader Symbol
Grafton Adobe Acrobat Reader Symbol
Hillsborough Adobe Acrobat Reader Symbol
Merrimack Adobe Acrobat Reader Symbol
Rockingham Adobe Acrobat Reader Symbol
Strafford Adobe Acrobat Reader Symbol
Sullivan Adobe Acrobat Reader Symbol



Adobe Acrobat Reader Symbol Adobe Acrobat Reader format. Download a free reader from Adobe.

NH Department of Environmental Services | 29 Hazen Drive | PO Box 95 | Concord, NH 03302-0095
(603) 271-3503 | TDD Access: Relay NH 1-800-735-2964 | Hours: M-F, 8am-4pm

copyright 2017. State of New Hampshire