skip navigation
New Hampshire Department of Environmental Services

Water Well Board
Water Well Contractor License

To protect public health and groundwater.

Any entity or individual engaged in water well construction, geothermal well or bore hole construction, or decommissioning. Water well construction means any method, procedure or operation to obtain water from a well, including drilling, digging, well development (including hydro-fracturing or other methods), for any purpose or use. Business entities are required to register with the Department of State.

Statute and Administrative Rules
RSA 482-B New Hampshire Water Well Board
We 100-1000 Water Well Board Rules

Application for Water Well Contractor License Adobe Acrobat Reader Symbol

License application fee: $25
Examination fee for each license category: $10

There is an annual license fee based on the type of equipment (license category) used for well installation according to We 100-1000 Water Well Board Rules (see We 301.02 Fees). When a contractor owns different types of equipment, the fee is the highest applicable fee as follows:

Rotary Drill $225
Technical Drill $225
Cable Tool Drill $150
Wash and Point Well  $150
Dug Well $100

Processing Time
Six to 10 weeks.

One year from July 1 to June 30.

Any modification or amendments to the license requires authorization from the Water Well Board.

Licenses are non-transferable.

Any person aggrieved by a final decision can appeal to the Water Well Board in accordance with We 100-1000 Water Well Board Rules (see We 206 Appeals Procedures and Conduct Of Hearings).

Status of Current Applications
Contact Abigail Fopiano at or (603) 271-1974.

Licensed Water Well Contractor Search

More Information
Water Well Contractor License Information Adobe Acrobat Reader Symbol

Contact Us
Water Well Board or (603) 271-1974.



Adobe Acrobat Reader Symbol Adobe Acrobat Reader format. Download a free reader from Adobe.

NH Department of Environmental Services | 29 Hazen Drive | PO Box 95 | Concord, NH 03302-0095
(603) 271-3503 | TDD Access: Relay NH 1-800-735-2964 | Hours: M-F, 8am-4pm

copyright 2017. State of New Hampshire