
New Hampshire Pump Installer 

License Information 
 

Introduction: A Pump Installer license is required of any entity or individual engaged in water 

well pump installation.  Licensed plumbers and electricians are authorized to repair and 

service water well pumps, however they must obtain a Pump Installer license to install or 

replace a well pump.  The NH Water Well Board issues two categories of licenses, for 

domestic (up to three horsepower) and industrial pump installation. 

 

Number of Licensed Contractors:  260 

 

Fees:  Application Fee:   $25.00 

  Exam Fee:   $10.00 each category 

  License Fee:   $100.00 

 

Processing Time: Applications must be received at least 10 days prior to the next licensing 

board meeting date, processing is completed approximately four weeks after the exam 

date. 

 

License Duration: One year 

 

Transferability: Not transferable 

 

License Renewal: Annually, July 1 with license fee and submittal of two continuous training 

hours pertaining to well pumps, well maintenance, or water treatment systems. 

 

NH Statute: RSA 482:B 

 

NH Code of Administrative Rules:  We 100 – We 1000 

 

Appeals Body: NH Water Well Board 

 

Additional Information: New Hampshire Water Well Board 

 29 Hazen Dr. 

    PO Box 95 

    Concord, NH  03302-0095 

 

 Contact:  Abigail Fopiano 

 Telephone: (603) 271-1974 

 Fax:  (603) 271-0656 

 E-mail: Abigail.Fopiano@des.nh.gov 

Website: 

https://www.des.nh.gov/organization/divisions/water/dwgb/wwb/permit_p

ump_installer_lic.htm 

 

https://www.des.nh.gov/organization/divisions/water/dwgb/wwb/permit_pump_installer_lic.htm
https://www.des.nh.gov/organization/divisions/water/dwgb/wwb/permit_pump_installer_lic.htm


 

Pump Installer License – Work Sheet 
 

How To Apply: 

 If you meet the professional requirements listed below, obtain an application from 

the NH Water Well Board (603) 271-1974. 

 Completely fill out the application, include all requisite experience and 

company/corporate information. 

 Submit the application to the NH Water Well Board at least 10 days prior to the 

next posted Board meeting date. 

 A pump installer license does not authorize a company or individual to perform 

well construction, development, or decommissioning. 

 

Requirements: 

 

 Experience: Applicants shall have a minimum three years of experience directly related 

water well pump installation. 

 Examination: Exams are required of all applicants and are specific to license type. 


