skip navigation
New Hampshire Department of Environmental Services

Water Works Operator Certification Program
Water Works Operator Certification

Community and non-transient/non-community public water systems serving at least 25 people must be operated by a NHDES certified water works operator. There are two categories of certification, treatment and distribution and five levels of complexities (Grades IA, I, II, III, IV).

To assure that water system operators have the basic knowledge and understanding needed to provide safe and adequate water supply to their customers.

All community and non-community/non-transient public water systems must be under the responsible charge of a certified water works operator. Applicants must have a specified amount of education and experience and pass an exam to become certified. The requirements vary depending upon the level of certification.

Statute and Administrative Rules
RSA 332:E Water Treatment Plant Operators and Water Distribution System Personnel
Env-Dw 502 Certification of Water Works Operators

Water Works Operator Certification Application FormMicrosoft Word Symbol

Fee of $50 per exam and a $50 biennial renewal fee.

Processing Time
Applications must be received at least 30 days prior to the exam date, processing is completed approximately six weeks after the exam date.

Certificates must be renewed every two years. The certificates expire and must be renewed on December 31 of odd-numbered years. To renew, operators must meet the specified number of continuing education training contact hours (five hours for grade IA, 20 hours for others) and pay the renewal fee.

Not applicable.


Any person aggrieved by a final decision of the Water Works Operator Certification Program can appeal the decision to the Water Council in accordance with RSA 21-O:7, IV.

Status of Current Applications
For certification status, contact Wade Pelham at (603) 271-2410 or

Contact Us
Water Works Operator Certification Program or (603) 271-2410



Microsoft Word SymbolMicrosoft Word format: free viewer instructions from Microsoft.

NH Department of Environmental Services | 29 Hazen Drive | PO Box 95 | Concord, NH 03302-0095
(603) 271-3503 | TDD Access: Relay NH 1-800-735-2964 | Hours: M-F, 8am-4pm

copyright 2017. State of New Hampshire