skip navigation
New Hampshire Department of Environmental Services

Groundwater Discharge Permitting and Registration
Holding Tank Registration

To protect groundwater quality and maintain a statewide inventory of potential sources of groundwater contamination.

The owner of any tank holding wastewater that contains or may contain regulated substances must register each tank.

Statute and Administrative Rules
RSA 485-A:13 Water Pollution And Waste Disposal/Water Discharge Permits
RSA 485:3, X New Hampshire Safe Drinking Water Act/Public Water Supply Protection Program
RSA 485-C:6 Groundwater Protection Act/Ambient Groundwater Quality Standards
Env-Wq 402 Groundwater Discharge Permit and Registration Rules

Holding Tank Registration Form


Processing Time
Typically five to ten days. NHDES will issue a holding tank registration or notify the owner in writing of why the registration cannot be issued within 30 days of receipt of a complete registration application.

No expiration.

The owner must file a new registration application with NHDES to clearly provide the design of, and rationale for, the proposed changes to the holding tank, its piping system, or other associated appurtenances. Before any changes may occur, a new registration must be obtained.

Yes, the registrant must provide the new owner’s name, mailing address, and daytime telephone number in writing to NHDES within 10 days of the transfer. The new owner is required to register the holding tank with NHDES under Env-Wq 402.35, within 30 days of the transfer.

Any person aggrieved by a final decision can appeal to the Water Council in accordance with RSA 21 0:7.

Status of Current Applications
Groundwater Permit Search

More Information
Holding Tanks for Floor Drains Adobe Acrobat Reader Symbol(Fact Sheet WD-DWGB-22-8)

Contact Us
Groundwater Discharge Permitting and Registration or (603) 271-2858.



Adobe Acrobat Reader Symbol Adobe Acrobat Reader format. Download a free reader from Adobe.

NH Department of Environmental Services | 29 Hazen Drive | PO Box 95 | Concord, NH 03302-0095
(603) 271-3503 | TDD Access: Relay NH 1-800-735-2964 | Hours: M-F, 8am-4pm

copyright 2017. State of New Hampshire