skip navigation
New Hampshire Department of Environmental Services
PUBLIC GOVERNMENT BUSINESS A to Z LIST

Hazardous Waste Compliance Section
Hazardous Waste Limited Permit

Purpose
To allow businesses or individuals that generate hazardous waste to treat those wastes onsite.

Applicability
Authorizes the treatment of hazardous waste by one (or more) of the following methods:
1) Use of elementary neutralization units to reduce the corrosive, i.e., acidic or caustic, characteristic of a waste.
2) Use of wastewater treatment units to remove hazardous waste constituents, e.g., heavy metals, organic solvents, etc., from process wastewater.
3) Use of wastewater evaporation units to reduce or consolidate hazardous waste constituents by an evaporation/heat process.

Statute and Administrative Rules
RSA 147-A:4 Hazardous Waste Management/Operator Permits
RSA 147-A:2, XVII Hazardous Waste Management/Definitions
Env-Hw 304.04 Permitting Hazardous Waste Facilities/Limited Permits (Env-Hw 300 Permits)

Application
Hazardous Waste Limited Permit ApplicationMicrosoft Word Symbol

Fee
The initial fee is $750. The renewal or modification fee is $400.

Processing Time
Typically 30 days to 60 days after the application is deemed complete.

Term/Renewal
The term is five years. To obtain a renewal, a new application must be submitted to the NHDES Waste Management Division, Hazardous Waste Permitting Section before the expiration of the existing Limited Permit. NHDES recommends submitting the permit renewal at least 90 days prior to the expiration date of the existing Limited Permit.

Modification/Amendments
A revised Hazardous Waste Limited Permit ApplicationMicrosoft Word Symbol, indicating the proposed changes, must be received by the NHDES Waste Management Division, Hazardous Waste Compliance Section for review at least 60 days before any changes are scheduled to begin.

Transferability
The new owner must submit a written request for permit transfer to the NHDES Waste Management Division, Hazardous Waste Compliance Section at least 15 days prior to the change of ownership.

Appeals
Any person aggrieved by a final decision can appeal to the Waste Management Council in accordance with RSA 21-O:9.

Status of Current Applications
Zachary Lorch at zachary.lorch@des.nh.gov or (603) 271-5328; or the Hazardous Waste Hotline at (603) 271-2942.

More Information
Reducing Hazardous Wastes in Your Business Adobe Acrobat Reader Symbol(Fact Sheet WMD-HW-8)
FAQs for Limited Permits

Contact Us
Hazardous Waste Compliance Section or Zachary Lorch at zachary.lorch@des.nh.gov or (603) 271-5328; or the Hazardous Waste Hotline at (603) 271-2942.

 

 

Adobe Acrobat Reader Symbol Adobe Acrobat Reader format. Download a free reader from Adobe.

Microsoft Word SymbolMicrosoft Word format: free viewer instructions from Microsoft.




NH Department of Environmental Services | 29 Hazen Drive | PO Box 95 | Concord, NH 03302-0095
(603) 271-3503 | TDD Access: Relay NH 1-800-735-2964 | Hours: M-F, 8am-4pm

copyright 2017. State of New Hampshire