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Solid Waste Facility Operator Training and Certification 
 
Solid Waste Facility Operators need to be aware of the laws and regulations that affect them 
and their facility. The solid waste facility operator training and certification program 
administered by the NHDES Waste Management Division since 1989 increases compliance with 
RSA 149-M and the New Hampshire Solid Waste Rules through education and training. 
Operators that understand the requirements are in a better position to properly maintain their 
facility, control operating costs, and protect public health and the environment. 
 
State Certification 
All solid waste facilities in New Hampshire, including those that collect/store/transfer, landfill 
and incinerate solid waste, must be permitted by NHDES. One of the regulatory requirements 
of a solid waste permit is that all operators at the facility be certified by NHDES. Conversely, 
operators are not eligible to work at such a facility without NHDES certification. This two-
pronged approach means both the permittee and the operator are in violation if the operator is 
not certified. Because certification belongs to the individual operator, even if the employer pays 
the fees, operators are responsible to ensure they apply to become certified and renew each 
year. 
 
Initial Application Procedure and Basic Training 
The program is implemented in accordance with Chapter Env-Sw 1600 of the New Hampshire 
Solid Waste Rules. All new operators must submit a complete application and the $50 fee to 
NHDES within 30 days of beginning employment at a solid waste facility. This entitles them to 
work at solid waste facilities in NH until they attend basic training and take the examination.  
NHDES notifies processed applicants of the next opportunity to train and test; that status is 
withdrawn if the operator does not attend. Operators that successfully complete basic training 
and testing become Principal Operators; operators that complete the training, but do not take 
or pass the test become Assistant Operators. Please use only the application with the 2016 date 
on the NHDES website (http://des.nh.gov/organization/divisions/waste/swrtas/opcert.htm) or 
contact the Solid Waste Management Bureau for a copy. 
 
Renewal Procedure 
Operators must renew certification every year no more than 90 days prior to the certification 
expiration date. The operator shall submit to NHDES three components to renew: 1) a 

http://des.nh.gov/organization/divisions/waste/swrtas/opcert.htm


completed and signed renewal application (NHDES sends pre-populated forms to current 
operators about 3 months prior to the certification expiration date, but operators may also use 
the renewal application with the 2016 date on the NHDES website 
(http://des.nh.gov/organization/divisions/waste/swrtas/sw_operator_renewals.htm)); 2) 
adequate verification of at least 2.5 hours of continuing professional development within the 
previous 12 months; and 3) $50 annual fee. If NHDES receives the application after the 
certification expiration date, but within 90 days following the expiration date, operators must 
pay an additional $25. If a renewal application is received more than 90 days after the 
certification expiration date, the application will be denied and the operator must reapply for 
initial certification. 
 
Continuing Professional Development 
Operators must take a minimum of 2.5 hours of professional or technical instruction that 
imparts information and instruction relevant to waste management and solid waste facility 
operations. In addition to NHDES workshops, operators may use training provided by third 
parties. See the NHDES website 
(www.des.nh.gov/organization/divisions/waste/swrtas/workshop.htm) for a schedule of 
workshops and links to other related organizations. Call or email NHDES with any questions 
about whether a class will be accepted. NHDES maintains attendance records at its own 
workshops, so renewing operators that attended a NHDES class should provide the training 
date and topic on the appropriate line of the application form. To document attendance at 
trainings not conducted by NHDES, operators must submit a certificate of attendance or 
another form of verification, such as a letter signed by the trainer. For all training outside of 
NHDES, verification must include the training date and the content and length of the training. 
 

For more information, contact: 
NH Department of Environmental Services 
Waste Management Division, Solid Waste Management Bureau 
PO Box 95 
Concord, NH  03302-0095 
(603) 271-2925 
solidwasteinfo@des.nh.gov 
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