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Hazardous Waste Transporter Frequently Asked Questions 
1. Do I need a hazardous waste transporter registration to pass through the state?  

Yes. A hazardous waste transporter registration is required for picking up hazardous waste in 
New Hampshire as well as passing through New Hampshire with hazardous wastes picked up 
in and to be delivered to other states. 

2. Is there a fee associated with obtaining a New Hampshire Hazardous Waste Transporter 
Registration?  

No. There are no fees at this time. 

3. Do I need a permit to transport hazardous materials (virgin product)?  

No. If you have questions relative to hazardous materials transportation, contact the new 
Hampshire Department of Safety at (603) 271-3349. 

4. Do I need to inform the Department of Environmental Services Waste Management Division 
if I am adding a vehicle to the fleet?  

No, but remember the vehicle must meet the requirements set forth in Env-Wm 600. 

5. In item #7 of the New Hampshire Hazardous Waste Transporter Registration Application, 
DES asks for a “RSPA Number.” What is a “RSPA Number?”  

The RSPA number refers to the Hazardous Material Registration Program formerly under the 
US Department of Transportation (USDOT) Research and Special Programs Administration. 
This program is now with the USDOT Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety 
Administration. If you have questions regarding the program please call (202) 366-4484. 
Applications and additional information may be obtained at 
www.hazmatonline.phmsa.dot.gov/services. 

6. Who should I notify in the event of a discharge of hazardous materials/waste?  

You should immediately notify the following in accordance with Env-Wm 608.01(b): 

1. Local emergency officials.  

2. DES: (603) 271-3899 Monday-Friday 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. or the New Hampshire State Police 1-
800-346-4009 from New Hampshire phones, or (603) 223-4381 from phones outside of New 
Hampshire, 24 hours per day.  

3. Notify the National Emergency Response Center at 1-800-424-8802, 24 hours per day if 
required by 49 CFR 171.15, 10-1-98 edition.  

4. Report in writing to the Director, Office of Hazardous Materials Regulations, Materials 
Transportation Bureau, Department of Transportation, Washington, D.C. 20590 if required 
by 49 CFR 171.15 and 49 CFR 171.16, 10-0-98 edition.  

http://www.phmsa.dot.gov/


5. For water transporters only, report the same notices as required by 33 CFR 153.203 for oil 
and hazardous substances. 

7. What are the vehicle marking requirements?  

The vehicle must be marked with the following in accordance with Env-Wm 603.06: 

1. The name of the company, corporation, association, or proprietorship.  

2. The city and state where its business office is located.  

3. The transporter registration number.  

The lettering must be permanent and legible and contrast with the background. 

For 1 and 3, the lettering must be a minimum of 3 inches high. 

8. What is required of a New Hampshire registered hazardous waste transporter if there is a 
change in any of the following: company name, address, phone number, EPA Identification 
Number?  

The transporter must notify DES in writing within 15 days of the change. 

9. What is required of a New Hampshire registered hazardous waste transporter if there is a 
change in company ownership?  

The transporter must notify DES in writing with 15 days of the change. The transporter will 
be required to submit another registration application. The New Hampshire Hazardous Waste 
Transporter Registration is not transferable. 

10. Do I need a permit to transport PCB Waste?  

No, if it is TSCA regulated. Yes, for PCB oil less than 50 ppm. 

11. Do I need a permit to transport used oil?  

Yes. Used oil is classified as a hazardous waste in New Hampshire; therefore, you must be a 
registered hazardous waste transporter to transport it. However, the generator of the used oil 
may transport it to a facility authorized to accept used oil in accordance with Env-Wm 
807.07 without having to register as a transporter. 

12. When does the New Hampshire Hazardous Waste Transporter Registration expire?  

In accordance with RSA 147-A:6, III, the registration period is from July 1 of a given year to 
June 30 of the following year. 

If you have any other questions relative to hazardous waste transportation, please feel free to 
contact Cheryl McGary at (603) 559-1506 or e-mail her at cmcgary@des.state.nh.us. 

Disclaimer:  
Information contained in this fact sheet is current as of August 2007. Statutory or regulatory changes that may occur 
subsequent to this date may cause part or all of the information to be invalid. If there are any questions concerning 
the status of this information, please contact DES at (603)271-3899. 
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