skip navigation
New Hampshire Department of Environmental Services

Media Center

DATE: May 16, 2011
CONTACT: Pierce Rigrod, 603 271-0688

DES Awards Presented To Protect the Quality and Availability of Local Drinking Water Resources

Concord, NH –- The New Hampshire Department of Environmental Services (DES) announced today recipients of several awards presented at the Annual Drinking Water Source Protection Workshop. Each year DES recognizes a water system, municipality, organization, or person for exemplary efforts to protect drinking water resources.

The 2011 Source Water Protection Award for Water Quality Protection was presented to Eric Senecal of the Lakes Region Planning Commission of Meredith and to the Green Mountain Conservation Group of Effingham. Blair Folts, Tara Schroeder and Jay Buckley accepted the award on behalf of GMCG. Together, LRPC and GMCG assisted four of six towns to adopt new local ordinances that now provide a more consistent level of aquifer protection for the Ossipee aquifer. As a result of the ordinances, 42 community water systems and the greater Ossipee aquifer are better protected from certain activities having the potential to contaminate groundwater.

The Source Water Sustainability Award, recognizing work to preserve the sustainability of our drinking water resources, was presented to Wade Crawshaw of Gilford, NH, a certified water works operator for the Gunstock Acres Village District. Mr. Crawshaw was responsible for installing an innovative system that rapidly detects and locates water leaks in the system’s piping. This computerized system reduces the response time to address leaks, saving potentially millions of gallons of water.

For more information about the awards presented or regarding the Annual Drinking Water Source Protection Workshop, please contact Pierce Rigrod at 603 271-0688.

# # #

NH Department of Environmental Services | 29 Hazen Drive | PO Box 95 | Concord, NH 03302-0095
(603) 271-3503 | TDD Access: Relay NH 1-800-735-2964 | Hours: M-F, 8am-4pm

copyright 2017. State of New Hampshire