skip navigation
New Hampshire Department of Environmental Services

Media Center
DATE: November 5, 2009
Collis Adams (603) 271-4054
Linda Magoon, (603) 271-4061

DES Levies $23,000 Fine for Violation of the Comprehensive Shoreland Protection Act

Concord, NH - The New Hampshire Department of Environmental Services Commissioner Thomas S. Burack announced today the payment of $23,000 from an administrative fine imposed against Michael Kane of Holyoke, MA. The administrative fine was issued for violations of the state’s Comprehensive Shoreland Protection Act on Highland Lake in Washington, NH.

Michael Kane, who owns property on Nuthatch Way, Washington, agreed to pay the administrative fine of $23,000 that was proposed for failing to maintain the woodland buffer on Highland Lake, for stumping within 50 feet of the reference line of Highland Lake, and for failing to comply with an Administrative Order requiring restoration of the woodland buffer.

In 2003, the state began an investigation of the property in response to a complaint that cutting of trees, removal of vegetation, and stumping was occurring along the shoreline. An administrative order was issued in 2004 requiring the submission of a restoration plan to restore the shoreline, which was not submitted. In response, the state proposed an administrative fine in the amount of $23,000 against Mr. Kane, based on the violations and the failure to comply with the administrative order. Mr. Kane agreed to pay the full amount of the administrative fine and restore the property rather than attend the administrative fine hearing. The site has since been restored.

DES will continue to monitor site conditions on the property through 2011 to ensure that restoration is complete.

For more information on this case, or the Comprehensive Shoreland Protection Act, contact Collis Adams, DES Wetlands Bureau Administrator, at 271-4054.

# # #

NH Department of Environmental Services | 29 Hazen Drive | PO Box 95 | Concord, NH 03302-0095
(603) 271-3503 | TDD Access: Relay NH 1-800-735-2964 | Hours: M-F, 8am-4pm

copyright 2017. State of New Hampshire