skip navigation
New Hampshire Department of Environmental Services

Septage Disposal Surcharge Planned for Certain Communities
DATE: July 12, 2006
CONTACT: Dick Flanders, WRBP, 603-934-4032

Concord, NH – The New Hampshire Department of Environmental Services announced today that the Franklin Wastewater Treatment Facility (WWTF) will be imposing a septage tipping (disposal) fee surcharge on those communities that restrict the spreading of biosolids and/or septage, effective August 1, 2006. The Franklin facility is part of the Winnipesaukee River Basin Program (WRBP), which was designed to serve ten member towns in the Lakes Region, although it now receives septage from over 90 other towns in New Hampshire and Vermont. Septage is the material pumped from septic tanks for residents served by septic systems and not sewers.

The Franklin WWTF received nearly six million gallons of septage during the past 12 months, or over 10 percent of all septage disposed at wastewater treatment facilities in New Hampshire. The current tipping fee schedule charges households within member communities a tipping fee of $65 per 1,000 gallons, and non-members pay $80 per 1,000 gallons. For those towns that have enacted a ban on the land application (beneficial use) of septage or biosolids, a 50 percent surcharge on the tipping fee has been applied.

This surcharge is levied in recognition that the WRBP is providing a service to communities and produces an end-product (biosolids) that is all beneficially used at permitted sites. Towns that have chosen to enact restrictions on land application reduce the land available for application and result in increased disposal costs. The WRBP strongly encourages recycling and has enacted incentives to encourage those who use our services to support beneficial use practices. While this policy has been in place for several years, the WRBP plans to expand the list of communities for which a tipping fee surcharge will be applied, from about six towns to 44 additional towns statewide that were determined to have restrictions on land application beyond what is required in state rules.

The following changes are noted:

  • The tipping fee for the WRBP communities of Tilton, Belmont and Northfield will be set at $100 per 1,000 gallons of septage.

  • The tipping fee and surcharge for the following additional communities will be set at $120 per 1,000 gallons ($80 fee plus 50 percent surcharge of $40 for a total of $120 per 1,000 gallons). These fees are in addition to pumping fees levied by septage haulers for their services:
Alexandria Easton New Boston
Alton Effingham Newbury
Alton Epping New Hampton
Auburn Farmington Nottingham
Barnstead Greenland Ossipee
Benton Haverhill Rochester
Bethlehem Jaffrey Rollinsford
Brentwood Jefferson Salem
Bridgewater Kingston Sandown
Brookfield Lancaster Sandwich
Chester Landaff Stratham
Claremont Littleton Sutton
Dalton Loudon Webster
Deering Madison Whitefield
Dover Middleton Windham

Note: The present fees without the surcharge will remain in effect until July 31, 2006

NH Department of Environmental Services | 29 Hazen Drive | PO Box 95 | Concord, NH 03302-0095
(603) 271-3503 | TDD Access: Relay NH 1-800-735-2964 | Hours: M-F, 8am-4pm

copyright 2017. State of New Hampshire